Chloe’s Book Club: These Happy Golden Years

The cover of Happy Golden Years reveals the ending, but the book doesn’t begin happily.  Instead, Pa is driving Laura across the prairie on a bitterly cold day.

Only yesterday she was a school girl; now she was a school teacher. This had happened so suddenly. I remember reading this book as a child and being astonished that a fifteen-year-old could become a school teacher.

The challenges of teaching are dwarfed by the challenge of boarding with a bitterly unhappy couple, the Brewsters. This episode reaches a frightening climax with one of the most memorable scenes in the series—Mrs. Brewster threatening her husband with a butcher knife. Can you imagine being trapped in an isolated shanty while this was going on?

Garth Williams illustration.

The wife was so disturbed that when writing the book, Laura used “Brewster” as a pseudonym for “Bouchie.” This scene is a prime example of why re-reading the Little House books as an adult provides new insights. Chloe’s reaction to this scene in Death on the Prairie mirrors my own:

That particular scene had horrified Chloe as a child. Now, she felt sorry for Mrs. Brewster. Maybe she had post-partum depression. Maybe she had too many children and not enough food. Maybe the lonely frozen prairie was simply too much.

I wonder how many settlers virtually alone on the endless prairie, with nothing to do and nowhere to go and relentless snow and cold, succumbed to despair. This was edgy material in the early 1940s, when the book was published.

However, the depth of misery Laura experiences at the Brewster home makes it all the more rewarding when Laura is rescued…by Almanzo! The author skillfully tantalizes readers with a liesurely description of his arrival:

The (school) shanty trembled in the wind that every moment howled louder around it. Then, …It seemed to (Laura) that the wind had a strangely silvery sound. …She did not know what to make of it. The sky was not changed; gray, low clouds were moving fast about the prairie covered with blowing snow. The strange sound grew clearer, almost like mice. Suddenly the whole air filled with a chiming of little bells. Sleigh bells!

Almanzo and his beautiful horses take Laura away for visits with her family on weekends, each time saving her from spending two wretched and endless days at the Brewster shanty. The weather is often brutal—minus forty degrees, on one trip. Almanzo’s willingness to come reveal his feelings for Laura, and his fortitude and skills suggest that he’d be a fine life partner.

Of course, all does not proceed smoothly between the two. Laura initially sees Almanzo only as a friend of Pa’s. Unsure of his intentions, she gets the courtship off to an awkward start by making it clear that she does not consider him a beau.

Garth Williams illustration.

When she’s back in town with her family after the school term ends, she watches as many of her friends go for sleigh rides up and down the main street. Almanzo waits a while before showing up—cleverly, I think, choosing to give her time alone to think about whether or not she wants a beau.

She tried not to mind being forgotten and left out. She tried not to hear the sleigh bells and the laughter, but more and more she felt that she could not bear it. Her wistfulness as she watches her friends flash by once again makes his arrival that much sweeter.

Sleigh rides give way to buggy rides, and slowly, the two get to know one another. “You’re independent, aren’t you?” Almanzo asks at one point.  “Yes,” said Laura.

Garth Williams illustration.

I love the image of two shy people getting to know each other on long drives through the country. Laura didn’t provide much detail about their conversations, which is just fine.

On one of my visits to De Smet, a guide gave me directions to an area where Laura and Almanzo went for some of their long drives.

This book, originally intended to be the final book in the Little House series, begins to show us Laura the woman instead of Laura the girl.

Garth Williams illustration.

I have mixed feelings about the wedding scene. Part of me is delighted that Laura and Almanzo have reached the point of commitment. Part of me is sad because the child I had known through the first books is gone.

How about you? What did you like best (or least) about the book?

***

Note: I am a former curator and love research, but I am not a Laura Ingalls Wilder scholar. For more academic information, see titles by William Anderson, Pamela Smith Hill, John E. Miller, and others. To learn more about the Chloe Ellefson Historic Sites mysteries, please visit my website.

Next up for discussion:  The First Four Years.

Tags: , ,

9 Responses to “Chloe’s Book Club: These Happy Golden Years”

  1. Jill Nisbet Says:

    To me this book seemed satisfying. As a child I felt that Laura had finally gotten her happy ending. I guess the first four years hadn’t really sunken in yet. Lol!
    It seemed that marriage to Almanzo after a sweet courtship and a successful teaching career was a fitting ending.
    Of course there were challenges. I couldn’t imagine a being a teacher at 15! Or trying to manage the big boys! And the cold! Couldn’t you just feel it?
    I agree that scene with Mr’s Brewster, was horrifying. I couldn’t imagine how scary it was. It is interesting to look at it with compassion.I had always just thought she was evil. Thanks for helping me see another point of view.

  2. donamaekutska7 Says:

    This book shows so many things, their courtship and a teacher at 15!’Laura was so young.The cold yikes made me cold too. Yes depression the poor woman. As an adult you see it differently.

  3. Dianne B. Says:

    The book , These Happy Golden Years, was one of my favorite books of the Little House series. I didn’t particularly care for the part where Laura is a teacher and had to deal with the very unhappy and depressed, Mrs Brewster. What an awful experience to have to live with some one who resented her and felt it an imposition to have to provide room and board for the teacher. But on the positive side, loved reading about the courtship of Almanzo and Laura.

  4. dianegarland Says:

    It’s the end of the series for me–I read and re-read The First Four Years, only because I loved Laura, but after a few times through, I decided to leave Laura as a happy woman ready to embark on a life of love and happiness and all the great adventures that marriage will bring.
    It’s one of my favorite books, along with The Long Winter and Farmer Boy.

    • Kathleen Ernst Says:

      Diane, I debated about whether to go one step farther and include The First Four Years here on the blog. It’s tough to go from THGY to that one! I’ll take one more look so I can write the post, and then will happily content myself to re-reading the earlier books.

  5. Lois Scorgie Says:

    Laura truly described her yearning for adventure, like Pa,to “see what lay beyond the hills” She craved excitement and danger. I could feel her thrill, freezing in the winter, risking injury with “sparkling eyes”on the flying rides behind the untamed colts with Almonzo. He understood her vitality.

    No flat land for me. I am extremely “ill at ease”, even on the prairies of Illinois.

    • Kathleen Ernst Says:

      Lois, your comment reminds me of one of the classic immigrant stories, Giants in the Earth. The wife, Beret, struggles to cope with life on the plains—especially in winter, and extra-especially after her husband paints the soddy’s interior white. I like prairie land, but I wouldn’t want to be trapped in a cabin with such unhappy people.

      I agree, this book definitely showed readers (not to mention Almanzo) how much spunk Laura has!

      • Lois Scorgie Says:

        I’ve looked at Beret’s statue in Lyndstrom MN, staring back, longing for Norway, while her husband gazes forward. These fictional characters, so real and so like the character of the Scandanavian settlers, the people in the Lyndstrom area built a farm, put up a cemetery stone and a statue of them.

  6. Lois Scorgie Says:

    I read The First Four Years mostly on my 70th birthday. I would not have made it to 70 if I would have gone through those four years.

Leave a Reply

