Death on the Prairie – Sneak Preview

I’ve gotten lots of queries about the 6th Chloe Ellefson mystery. When is it coming? Which historic sites are featured?

So, I’m happy to share a sneak preview. Death on the Prairie will be published by Midnight Ink in October, 2015.

DeathOnThePrairieCoverWeb

Here’s the official scoop:

Chloe Ellefson and her sister, Kari, have long dreamed of visiting each historic site dedicated to Laura Ingalls Wilder. When Chloe takes custody of a quilt once owned by the beloved author, the sisters set out on the trip of a lifetime, hoping to prove that Wilder stitched it herself.

But death strikes as the journey begins, and trouble stalks their fellow travelers. Among the “Little House” devotees are academic critics, greedy collectors, and obsessive fans. Kari is distracted by family problems, and unexpected news from Chloe’s boyfriend jeopardizes her own future. As the sisters travel deeper into Wilder territory, Chloe races to discover the truth about a precious artifact—and her own heart—before a killer can strike again.

Laura Ingalls Wilder…antique quilts…a six-state road trip…this one was lots of fun to develop.

I’ll have lots more to share about Death on the Prairie later this year. Stay tuned!

Tags: , , ,

22 Responses to “Death on the Prairie – Sneak Preview”

  1. Kim Borkovec Says:

    Can’t wait for “Death on the Prairie”.

  2. Ruth Nelson-Lau Says:

    I can hardly wait to get my hands on the new book! Ruth

  3. Kathleen White Says:

    Can you even imagine how popular this one will be????? Amazing!

    • Kathleen Ernst Says:

      Kathleen, it will be interesting to see. I usually gravitate toward places and stories I think more people should know about. With this topic, that’s not the case! Lots of us grew up adoring those books.

  4. Prentiss Garner Says:

    I am looking forward to the new book!!!

  5. Pamela Says:

    Kathleen —
    I love the way you weave together real objects with mysteries. Your work is what shows off the best of our genre! I am looking forward to reading this new Chole novel.

  6. Sally Dahl Says:

    Your books have enlightened me to the exciting world of historical fiction! You have created such wonderful characters – I feel like I can drive to Eagle and meet up with Chloe and Roelke for lunch!! I am so looking forward to Death on the Prairie! Thank you!!!

  7. Diana Haustowich Says:

    Looking forward to “Death on the Prairie” Kathleen. Enjoyed seeing you at Books & Company in Oconomowoc. Hope to see you soon again. Diana Haustowich

  8. Karla Lawrence Says:

    Hi Kathleen, I am enjoying reading “Traditions of Deceit” at the moment, so was glad to see that Chloe will be continuing to explore history around Wisconsin and developing her relationship with Roelke!

    • Kathleen Ernst Says:

      Hi Karla – Thanks for stopping by! I’m so glad you’re enjoying Tradition of Deceit. I hope to continue the series indefinitely, as there are so many wonderful places and themes to explore. And although Chloe may travel from time to time, she’ll stay rooted in Wisconsin. :>)

  9. Susan Slinde Says:

    Really enjoyed Tradition of Deceit–Your writing reminds me somewhat of a cross between Jody Picoult and Karen Fossum (? spellings) It’s a good thing!.

  10. Dianne Stump Turner Says:

    I just now read the sneak peek to Death on the Prairie! I am so excited about the Laura content!

    My husband was good enough to stop at Walnut Grove, MN,and DeSmet, SD on one vacation in the 1980’s, when our son was growing up. I hope to visit other Laura spots in the future!

    I recently purchased the book by the South Dakota Historical Society, “Laura Ingalls Wilder, Pioneer Girl The Annotated Biography” and am anxious to peruse through it!

    Of course, who didnt watch the adventures of the Ingalls family on that terrific TV series, Little House on the Prairie!

    Thank you so much for, what promises to be, another exciting Chloe (and Roelke, my book boyfriend!) mystery!

    • Kathleen Ernst Says:

      I’m so glad you’re excited! Walnut Grove and De Smet are wonderful places–but then, all of the homesites are, each in their own way. The books had a lot to do with setting me on the path I’m still traveling today. And never fear–although Roelke does not accompany Chloe and Kari on their road trip, he still plays an important role in the story. :>)

  11. schmelzb Says:

    Do you categorize the Chloe Ellefson books as contemporary mystery, historical, or children’s mysteries? I want to read and maybe nominate you for Malice Domestic awards soon. i just signed up for your blog posts.

    • Kathleen Ernst Says:

      Thanks so much for connecting, and for your question! I think they would qualify in the contemporary category, but I’m going to double-check with the coordinator to see where they’d put books set in the 1980s. I’ll get back to you.

    • Kathleen Ernst Says:

      Malice Domestic defines Contemporary Mysteries as any taking place after 1950. So Death on the Prairie is definitely a Contemporary. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

