An American Girl

Big Announcement!

In the fall of 2012, American Girl will launch a new Historical Character. And guess what? I had the privilege and pleasure of creating her.

I must quickly add that I was part of a wonderful team. Editors at American Girl chose the era. Once I joined the project, I worked with editors, researchers, and content experts to create a series of six books. Many, many more people are involved with the other elements that go along with this type of major release—including developing the doll which will represent the character.

For me, this was an amazing opportunity-of-a-lifetime. I plunged into the research. For the past three years I’ve been immersed in the chosen time and place, and busy creating characters and stories.

What time? What place? What characters? Well, it’s too early to say. What I can say is that I am very excited! I think girls will love exploring this world as much as I have.

graphic c. 123RF

If you’d like to be the among the very first to learn more about American Girl’s next Historical Character, sign up for updates by clicking on the blue box that says “Kathleen’s Email List” on the right side of the page. I promise to share more information as soon as I’m able!

Tags: ,

24 Responses to “An American Girl”

  1. Heather Says:

    Sounds exciting! My 7-yr-old niece is really into the American Girls right now.

  2. Kathleen Ernst Says:

    If American Girl had been around when I was a child, I would have devoured them. I grew up fascinated by history because of all the historical fiction I read, and I love thinking/hoping that my books might help foster that response in children today.

  3. Alan Orloff Says:

    Congrats, Kathleen!

  4. Arletta Dawdy's Blog Says:

    Kathleen,
    My grandaughter Allie is fast approaching the age and reading skills to start the American Girl series. I’ll be looking for your books shortly and am glad to hear of this new work. Congratulations on this celebration of your talents.

  5. asus Transformer Prime Says:

    Ola! Sitesandstories,
    Thanks you for your post, American Girl doll collecting is a fun activity for girls of all ages. The American Girl collection has something for everyone, from Bitty Baby for girls who love baby dolls, to dolls who look just like their owners. Accessories, furniture, books, pets, and friends help to complete a doll’s world.
    Keep up the good work

  6. Judy Northrup Says:

    So excited. I was excited to think you were writing another mystery…but even happier to read you will be writing several about a new character!

    Im a librarian and can’t wait to share them with my students at school and with my own daughters! We are fans!

  7. Mary E. Trimble Says:

    Kathleen, BIG congratulations on this honor to be among the chosen. It’s right up your alley, isn’t it? What lovely recognition.

  8. Meg Says:

    That’s marvelous. I know when I worked as a librarian it was very difficult to keep the American Girl books on the shelves. They were always checked out.

  9. Me Says:

    Kathleen,
    Super News – when do you find the time for all the research and
    writing, too? You are a real pro at producing great books. I’m waiting to hear when the new doll will be launched and when it’s
    first book will be out! Grandmothers also love history, you know!
    Cheers.
    Marta

  10. Amy Says:

    Kathleen,
    I’m a big American Girl fan. So far I’ve read “Clues in the Shadows” and “Secrets in the Hills.” They were both such good books! I’m really excited about the new character, and I can’t wait to read her books.

  11. Hermione Says:

    Kathleen,

    How exciting for all of us who have grown up with American Girl and been able to share it with our own children! They couldn’t possibly have picked a better author for their upcoming stories. Now, if only we knew her name and where she will be from…. haha. Truly, Lily and I are so excited with this confirmation and can’t wait to snatch up the books (and dolls too).

  12. Lorraine Says:

    Dear kathleen,
    I have been a big fan of the American Girl Historical book series for over ten years. Even though girls at my age are more worried about the latest fashion fads, I think about dolls! I cannot wait to see the new Historical doll and her book series.

    • Kathleen Ernst Says:

      Hi Lorraine! Thanks for posting. I’m excited about the new release too! I’m also waiting eagerly to see what the wonderful designers come up with. I’ve had a few glimpses, and I think the doll and her clothes will be a big hit.

  13. Angela Story Says:

    when should we expect any clues? I read your Kirsten mystery and love your style! Soo excited!

    • Kathleen Ernst Says:

      Thanks for connecting! Unfortunately I’m not able to share any more details yet. As soon as I can, I will! Keep an eye here, on my website, or on my Facebook author page. And anyone on my email list will get news as soon as I’m permitted to share.

  14. carolyn mcdaniel Says:

    I’ve real ALL the American Girl books, mysteries, short stories, and anything else American Girl.. Am very excited for a new series and a new girl to come in September. Being 66 years old I’m hoping for a 1950’s doll since she would be of my exact era. Love your stories and looking forward to the new series.

  15. LILLY Says:

    yo i love my new american girlXXXX

Leave a Reply

